Childers goes religious on new three-part set
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Childers goes religious on new three-part set

Thursday, September 8, 2022 – Tyler Childers announced today he will be out with a three-part religious project, "Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?," with his backing band The Food Stamps on Sept. 30 via Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records.

The three-part project each consists of eight songs presented in a trio of distinct sonic perspectives — Hallelujah, Jubilee and Joyful Noise.

The Hallelujah and Jubilee versions of "Angel Band" are out today along with a music video for the song directed by Bryan Schlam.

Produced by Childers and The Food Stamps, the set features a mix of new and traditional songs and was primarily recorded in guitarist's James Barker's home studio, Dragline Studios.

The Hallelujah version captures Childers and the core band playing live in a single room over the course of two days, while the Jubilee version builds on it with the addition of strings, horns, background vocals and an array of worldly instruments such as dulcimer, mbira and sitar. The Joyful Noise version will be unveiled on release day.

Childers said he "grew up Baptist, and I was scared to death to go to hell. And a lot of that stuck with me. Filtering through that and trying to find the truth, and the beauty and the things you should think about and expelling all that nonsense has been something I've spent a lot of time on. This is a collection that came together through those reflections. In a lot of ways, this is processing life experiences in the different philosophies and religions that have formed me, trying to make a comprehensive sonic example of that."

"Working with the same song three different ways is a nod to my raising, growing up in a church that believes in the Holy Trinity: The Father, Son and Holy Ghost and what that means. The Father being the root, the place from which everything comes from, and The Son coming to free up some of those things, allowing it to be more open and welcoming. And then you have the Holy Ghost once The Son is gone — that feeling that's supposed to keep us sustained until we are reunited, in whatever way that looks."

"Message wise, I hope that people take that it doesn't matter race, creed, religion and all of that like — the most important part is to protect your heart, cultivate that and make that something useful for the world."

The Food Stamps are: Barker (pedal steel), Craig Burletic (bass), CJ Cain (guitar), Rodney Elkins (drums), Chase Lewis (keyboards) and Jesse Wells (guitar, fiddle).

The new album is the first new music from Childers since 2020's Grammy-nominated surprise release, "Long Violent History." His two previous releases, 2019's "Country Squire" as well 2017's RIAA Platinum debut, "Purgatory," received much praise.

The track list on all three sections is:
1. Old Country Church
2. Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?
3. Two Coats
4. Purgatory
5. Way of the Triune God
6. Angel Band
7. Jubilee
8. Heart You Been Tendin

More news for Tyler Childers

CD reviews for Tyler Childers

CD review - Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven? At nearly two hours long, just listening all the way through Tyler Childers' gospel release is a challenging project in and of itself. It's an eight-song album, but each of these eight songs is played three different ways. Recorded with his band The Food Stamps, these three 'albums' are also given descriptive names. Hallelujah versions captures Childers and his band playing live in the studio during a two-day period. The Jubilee selections pile on the instrumentation, including ...
CD review - Purgatory Over the course of the 10 songs on "Purgatory," Lawrence County, Ky.'s Tyler Childers establishes himself as one of the brightest new songwriting stars - an insightful author blessed with an ability to capture and convey gritty snapshots of rural American life. The scenes depicted in these songs are so vivid and evocative that listeners are left to ponder if these are autobiographical stories or works of fiction. There is no better example here than "Banded Clovis," a ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube