Beyonce, Lewis, Yonder Mountain release new tracks
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Beyonce, Lewis, Yonder Mountain release new tracks

Friday, March 29, 2024 – The much-hyped Beyonce country album, "Country Carter," is out today. Beyonce, who teased the disc during a Super Bowl commercial, released a 26-song package. She includes her take of The Beatles' "Blackbird" and a unique cover of "Jolene" with Dolly Parton providing the spoken introduction. Other guests include Willie Nelson, Willie Jones, Miley Cyrus, Brittany Spencer, Tierra Kennedy, Post Malone and Linda Martell, the first Black woman to sing at the Grand Ole Opry.

The Secret Sisters' new album, "Mind, Man, Medicine," is out today via New West Records. Produced by The Secret Sisters (siblings Laura Rogers and Lydia Slagle), John Paul White and Ben Tanner (St. Paul and the Broken Bones, Lera Lynn), and recorded mainly at Muscle Shoals' FAME Studios, "Mind, Man, Medicine" provides a look into the lives of Laura and Lydia these last few years. Across these 11 tracks, the sisters gracefully detail where they are now and the personal growth and experiences that led them there.

Aaron Lewis released "The Hill" via Valory Music. Featuring 10 tracks penned solo or with a collaborators, Lewis, who is conservative, speaks to a time of upheaval in the wider world. The songs are acoustic with the disc produced by Lewis and Ira Dean, who was a member of Trick Pony.

Curb artist Dylan Scott delivers the deluxe edition of his latest album "Livin' My Best Life (Still)," today. In addition to five unreleased tracks, "This Town's Been Too Good To Us," "I'll Be A Bartender" and "Boys Back Home" are on the expanded 26-song collection.

Colorado jam-grass band Yonder Mountain String Band reflect on over two decades of music-making with the surprise reveal of "I'd Like Off," a formerly unreleased collection and one of the last studio projects featuring the group's original lineup: Adam Aijala, Dave Johnston, Ben Kaufmann, and the late Jeff Austin. The release contains five songs, which have been part of live shows.

Sheryl Crow releases her 11th full-length studio album, "Evolution," via The Valory Music Co. Featuring nine new songs, the album is produced by Mike Elizondo (Dr. Dre, Maroon 5, Keith Urban, Gary Clark Jr.). The release includes new single "Alarm Clock," co-written with Elizondo and Emily Weisband.

Since the release of her debut collection, "Goin' Home Comin' On," Mountain Home Music Company's Carley Arrowood has been gifted one husband, one baby daughter and one IBMA Momentum Vocalist of the Year award while releasing four acclaimed singles — "Deeper In Love," "Tsali's Run," "Chasin' Indigo" and "Moondancer" — that have made an undeniable case for her growing power as a mature, confident creative force. Her second album, "Colors," out now. Guitarist, harmony singer, co-writer (and husband) Daniel Thrailkill, harmony singer (and sister) Autumn Watson banjoist Kristin Scott Benson and co-writer Becky Buller — play on the disc along with mandolin player Nick Dumas, the Foreign Landers' Tabitha Benedict (banjo) and multi-instrumentalist Jeff Partin (Rhonda Vincent & the Rage), along with percussionist Tony Creasman.

The third installment of the HIXTAPE franchise pioneered by HARDY, "HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE" is out. The project is a tribute to the late Joe Diffie, released in conjunction with the Diffie estate on the fourth anniversary of his passing. Across 17 reimaginings of Diffie classics, the album features never-before-heard recordings captured in 2006, and one previously unreleased original ("Life Had Plans For Me") featuring Diffie's son, Parker. Additional members of Diffie's family contributed backing vocals on "Prop Me Up Beside The Jukebox (If I Die)," as part of the Difftones - a one-track-only supergroup comprised of the Diffie's and vocals from a variety of featured artists. aron Tippin, Blake Shelton, Chris Young, Clint Black, Darius Rucker, Hailey Whitters, Jack Ingram, Kameron Marlowe, Toby Keith, Koe Wetzel, Lauren Watkins, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs, Mark Wills, Nate Smith, Old Dominion, Post Malone, Randall King, Reba McEntire, and Sammy Kershaw; join returning cast Brooks & Dunn, ERNEST, HARDY, Jake Worthington, Jon Pardi, Lainey Wilson, Larry Fleet, Randy Houser, Morgan Wallen, and Tracy Lawrence.

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Cowboy Carter With the "Cowboy Carter" opening track, "American Requiem," Beyoncé makes her case for familial, if not always stylistic, country legitimacy. After singing a brief biographical sketch she states, "If that ain't country, tell me what is." This opener also seeks out a positive, collective purpose for the United States with the line, "Can we stand for something?" Although the album begins with a familiar Beyoncé political stance, the ...
CD review - Frayed at Both Ends Aaron Lewis' "Frayed At Both Ends" features the singer/songwriter's profanity-laced political diatribe, "Am I The Only One." If you're not on Lewis' (conservative) side of the political spectrum, you may steer clear of Lewis' album. This would be understandable. Many don't appreciate politics mixed in with their music. However, Lewis – who began his career as the vocalist in the grunge band Staind – has become quite an effective country ...
CD review - State I'm In When you tune into rocker turned country singer Aaron Lewis' fourth solo outing, "State I'm In," you'll find yourself excited about the potential state of country music with artists like Lewis still standing guard. Writing with an unapologetic hand and an honest, earnest love for the sounds of classic country he was weaned on, Lewis' music here steps forth with powerful emotion, great musicianship, and you can dance to it too. Backing Lewis' play is a virtual ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube