Wilson wins big at ACMs
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Wilson wins big at ACMs

Thursday, May 16, 2024 – Lainey Wilson was the big winner at the 59th Academy of Country Music Awards on Thursday, winning X awards including the biggest one of the night – Entertainer of the Year.

Wilson, who opened the show with Little Texas' "God Blessed Texas" (the awards were held in Frisco, Texas) and her own "Hang On Honey," also won Female Artist of the Year and Vocal Event of the Year along with Jelly Roll for "Need a Favor."

"I remember being a little girl," said Wilson, who grew up in a small town of 200 people in Louisiana. "I'd climb out on my roof. I'd look up and see the stars...and I'd dream about being up there in one of those planes. This year, it's so crazy because we've already toured the UK and Australia and we're about to start our American leg. The funny thing I still feel like that little girl. I look up at the stars."

The Vocal Event of the Year honor also went to Zach Crowell and David Ray Stevens for producing and the label, Stoney Creek Records/BMG Nashville

Chris Stapleton had few big wins also – Album of the Year for "Higher" and Male Vocalist of the Year. Producer Dave Cobb shared in the Album of the Year honor as did the Stapletons, who also produced. Stapleton's label, Mercury Nashville, also shared in the award. He previously won the Artist-Songwriter Award.

"What an honor," Stapleton said in taking the album award. "We do our best to make an album, a complete body of work all the time."

Morgane Stapleton, his wife and back-up singer, said, "I'm so proud every day to get to work with the love of my life. it means so much to be recognized with him."

Song of the Year went to Jordan Davis for "Next Thing You Know." He also took the award as a songwriter along with Chase McGill, Greylan James and Josh Osborne. Publishers Family Fam Songs; Hold on Can I Get a Number 1 Music; and Songs of Universal Inc. also won the award.

Country Duo of the Year went to Dan + Shay.

For the seventh straight year, Old Dominion won Group of the Year. Lead singer Matt Ramsey said, "We could not have dreamed that we would have won this thing seven years in a row." He recounted a story of sitting on his front porch talking with Old Dominion band mate Geoff Sprung and his water got shut off because he couldn't afford to pay it.

Luke Combs won Single of the Year for "Fast Car." Combs, Chip Matthews and Jonathan Singleton won as producers. Combs' label, River House Artists/Columbia Nashville, also shared the award.

Previously announced winners were Megan Moroney for New Female Artist; Nate Smith for New Male Artist; Tigirlily Gold for New Duo or Group; and "Burn It Down" for Visual Media of the Year. Parker McCollum also shared in the award as the artist as did producers Christen Pinkston and Wesley Stebbins-Perry and director Dustin Haney.

Jessie Jo Dillon won Songwriter of the Year.

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Bell Bottom Country Lainey Wilson was named Billboard's Top New Country Artist of 2021, ACM 2022 New Female Artist of the Year, CMT's 2022 "Breakout Artist of the Year" and scored six CMA Awards nominations, some impressive achievements for a relatively new face on the country music scene. This new album only confirms that she is a unique talent with her own sound in a genre that usually rewards conformity and sameness. There is as much rock 'n' roll in these tunes as there is country ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube