Those Darlins can't stay home
COUNTRY STANDARD TIME
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive
 

Those Darlins can't stay home

Thursday, December 3, 2009 – Those Darlins aren't staying home in 2010 either. After more than 140 gigs this year, the trio will hit the road in early January for a series of dates through February.

Releasing their self-titled debut album this year and touring with everyone from Dan Auerbach to King Khan & BBQ Show, Wanda Jackson to Black Lips, the touring includes four dates this month before starting up again Jan. 7 in Asheville, N.C. and ending for now Feb. 13 in Grinnell, Ia.

Upcoming tour dates are:
Thursday, Dec. 3 Cincinnati, OH @ Northside Tavern w/KK&BBQ
Saturday, Dec. 5 Oxford, MS @ The Lyric w/ Lucero
Friday, Dec. 11 Birmingham, AL @ Zydeco w/ Lucero
Saturday, Dec. 12 Murfreesboro, TN @ YEAH! Benefit
Thursday Jan. 7 Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Friday, Jan. 8 Charlotte, NC @ The Evening Muse
Saturday, Jan. 9 Columbia, SC @ The Art Bar
Thursday, Jan. 14 Huntsville, AL @ Crossroads w/The Pine Hill Haints
Friday, Jan. 15 Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/The Pine Hill Haints
Thursday, Jan. 28 Johnson City, TN @ The Down Home
Friday, Jan. 29 Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Saturday, Jan. 30 Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern
Sunday, Jan. 31 Washington, DC @ Black Cat Backstage
Tuesday, Feb. 2 Asbury Park, NJ @ the Wonder Bar
Wednesday, Feb. 3 Hoboken, NJ @ Maxwell's
Thursday, Feb. 4 Cambridge, MA @ TT The Bears
Friday, Feb. 5 New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Saturday, Feb. 6 Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Neck Tie
Tuesday, Feb. 9 Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Wednesday, Feb. 10 Pontiac, MI @ The Pike Room
Thursday, Feb. 11 Chicago, IL @ Schuba's
Friday, Feb. 12 Springfield, IL @ Bedrock 66
Saturday, Feb. 13 Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College Gardner Lounge


More news for Those Darlins


CD reviews for Those Darlins

CD review - Screws Get Loose At first glance, the young, often clothing-deprived women in Those Darlins come off as pure novelty, a creation aimed at pleasing libidos rather than ears. So when their 2009 debut album was released, its success amongst even jaded music critics was a pleasant surprise. The band, made up of a trio of women on guitar, bass and ukulele, as well as a male drummer, specialize in lowbrow, but witty ditties that often focus on getting drunk and eating chicken. Hailing from Tennessee, their first album ...
CD review - Those Darlins Those Darlins are not exactly country, and they're not precisely punk (their tattoos may help in that respect), but the three young Murfreesboro, Tenn. Darlins (that's the surname the three women - Nikki on ukelele/vocals, Jessi on guitar/bass/vocals and Kelley on bass/guitar/vocals - use) make a lot of good music on their full-length debut. There's a care-free, fun attitude merging both country and punk from the start of Red Light Love. That vibe continues on DUI or Die. ...


©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook